Magic and Life

Your Neighborhood Effect

Hey guys! This week I wanted to talk about a serious topic. The importance of community and sharing one's own time with others in need. Not about donating money, or supporting a cause from the security of your own home. I am talking about actually visiting places in your community that are operated by the people in your community.

 

Throughout my life I have always been drawn to the entertainment of others. To give them a sence of wonder, make them laugh, and bring a little joy into their lives. But that is only one side of it. The other side that is just as important, even more so, is when I am not entertaining. I have thankfully found out early in my life, that when I give back to my community that I support with my time and attention. I not only make the lives of others more enjoyable and easier. I make my own life more enriched and gratifying. I see and interact with others face to face. That to me, is leagues more precious and enjoyable than just keeping the community at a distance and signing over a few dollars, or putting a few cans of food into a bin at the grocery store.

 

Be it devoting your free time to a cause, or an organization, that supports others in your community cope with issues or problems that they themselves can not deal with on their own. You take away a lot of sorrow and sadness with a compassion and togetherness only another human can provide. It has nothing to do with money, or signing a ballot, making a list of names to get other people to donate more money and resources. Don't get me wrong. Those are things we need very much. Those are things that help a great deal. That being said, those things are not the one on one contact between people that most need. The human touch of actually being there, helping another human like yourself.

 

The community you live in is not a community of resources and capital worth. It is people. Without people, none of the other stuff matters. Sharing your precious time with another in need, for most, is worth so much more than a dollar sign or a cause you say that you support. Yes, your time is precious. What is it really worth to you? To have another person you do not know, care about you and help you out when you truly need it. There will always be a time in your life that you will need help in some manner or fashion. Would you enjoy someone's help if they gave it freely without you asking?

 

-Seth

“The spirit of giving is not about what you may gain in return. It is about the illumination of hope and happiness, which makes reality worth living in.”

 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SethGrabelENT

Twitter: https://twitter.com/sethgrabel

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/sethgrabel

 

Leave a Reply

